Solved

Supply Chain Optimization Warning: Duplicate row errors leading to non-unique shadow prices

• 28 April 2022
  • 7 replies

Badge

Hi! I’m doing a supply chain optimization using AIMMS for my master project and I have a problem with my binary determinant variable as well as the result error computed. Since this is my first time using AIMMS, I am not sure on how to debug it.

The constraint of my binary is X(i,l,g,g2) + X(i,l,g2,g) ; where g≠g2.

After I run the program, it says

Warning: The rows "TransportationBinary(liquid hydrogen,truck,g1,g3)" and "TransportationBinary(liquid hydrogen,truck,g3,g1)" are equal in the generated mathematical program "MinimizeDailyCost".  This may lead to non-unique shadow prices.  For more information regarding potential causes and consequences, see the help associated with the option "Warning_duplicate_row".

Can anyone help me explain what is the problem? I am also confuse on which section to declare the g≠g2 in the transportation constraint (g represents the grid squares/ supply demand location).

Appreciate your help!

icon

Best answer by deannezhang 29 April 2022, 05:06

View original

7 replies

Badge

Hi @gabiservidone and @deannezhang ! First of all I just wanted to apologize for the late reply. I just recovered from dengue fever and was able to work on my problem this week. I feel obliged to let you both know that the program works as it gives me numerical results after I adjusted the TDC and objective function. Thank you so much! 😄

Userlevel 5
Badge +6

@Hazirah, you are seeing “Nonbasic” because your model has 0 as the best solution. For now, X has no ‘reason’ to be 1, since if it is 0 to all indexes, the three contraints are good. 

Other note, TDC is empty, you need to set the objective function for the solve to run properly. With an objective function defined, I think you will start to see values for all the variables. 

Let us know if it worked!

Userlevel 4
Badge +3