Solved

Simple Scheduling Problem

• 29 March 2020
  • 5 replies

Hello, i am new to aimms and completed the beginners tutorial and tried to understand the machine planning example, but it was to complicated for me to understand all of it.

I want to solve a scheduling problem but i have problems creating the model. Let me explain my situation: In the production there are build articles from different orders and they are transported inside the company within containers. The transport limitation is 8 containers an hour. I want to solve the problem and want the best order which is <= 8 containers an hour, if not possible, than the next following orders should be so small, that it will be compensated, if not possible, a gap with no production time should be inserted.

It would be ideal, that the same article is produced in one step (e.g. Article 52107 has to be build for 3 different customer orders). After all, i want to visualize it. My first problem is, that i don’t know how to produce on order after another and make the timeline to calculate the demand of containers per hour and how i iterate the different variations and store the best possibility.

I have attached the sample data. I would be glad, if anybody can provide me an example or help :)

icon

Best answer by mohansx 6 April 2020, 02:09

View original

5 replies

For the container requirement, there are many ways you could model this. One way is to keep track of the over/under usage of containers and pass it on to the next position. For example. 

Position1 - Order X, used 6 containers. That means Position2 can be given an order which needs up to 10 containers without any penalty because we used 2 less containers (8-6 ) in the previous position. If you assign OrderZ which need 13 containers to Position2, then we will have 8 - 3 = 5 (13-10 = 3) containers for Position3 to compensate.

Hello, yes it has helped me a lot. Now i am able to sequence the jobs.